Happy Father’s Day!

Happy Father’s Day!

Today is the day that everyone celebrates their fathers or their husbands.  Everyone calls or sends a text wishing them a “Happy Father’s Day” or posts something up on Facebook wishing every dad they know a Happy Father’s Day.  It’s such a wonderful day to celebrate the men in our lives who are wonderful father’s to our children, some of those children not even being their own but they love them and accept them as if they were.  Those dads are special and deserve to be recognized, EVERYDAY, not just one day out of the year.  There are many men who are the most amazing father’s to their children (and other children they did not conceive) and then there are many other men who do not even deserve the title of “FATHER”.

What about those of us who no longer have a dad?  How are we supposed to celebrate Father’s Day and feel complete?  How are we supposed to feel when we are wishing all these men a Happy Father’s Day and we do not have a dad to pick up the phone and call to say “Hi Papi, Happy Father’s Day… Te Amo”.  Just so you know, it’s a horrible feeling.  It has got to be one of the worst feelings in the entire world to not have a dad anymore.  To not be able to call your father and tell him how much you love him and how much you miss him.  To tell him how well your children are doing and to let him know how much they love and miss their abuelo.  It’s not a great feeling.  Losing a parent is one of the worst feelings in the entire world.  For those of you who have both parents around, be thankful.  Take a step back and be thankful and grateful because you can say you have both of your parents around.  For those of you who only have one parent (either mom or dad) cherish that parent and love them unconditionally regardless of their faults because one day they will no longer be around and you never want to have any regrets.

Now, as a mom of three children, who all have different fathers, Father’s Day is not easy in this household.  My husband is the father of my baby girl Alexis and then my oldest son Justin and youngest son Antonio (Tony) have two different fathers.  Tony gets to spend every other weekend with his dad, he’s not the best father figure in the world but my son loves him and I guess that’s all that matters (for now).  Justin on the other hand just lost his dad in December of 2015 suddenly.  One minute they were out for breakfast and the next his father was in a coma on life support (all in a matter of hours).  How, as a mom, do I help my son cope with his first Father’s Day without his father?  How in the world do I do that? I can’t… I just can’t.  Today has been a very somber day for me because I miss my dad terribly but I can’t even begin to imagine how Justin is feeling today.  He says he’s fine, he looks fine but remember folks, LOOKS CAN BE DECEIVING!

My point of this blog is to remind you all to be thoughtful and considerate and always cherish the parents you have, respect the memory of the parents you no longer have and take solace in knowing that the parent who is gone is never really gone.  They are with you always in spirit and in your heart.

Happy Father’s Day to all the wonderful dads out there who appreciate the blessing of being a father and to all those moms out there who have had to pull double duty because either the dad is a deadbeat or the dad has passed away.

Now to my Personal Father’s Day Wishes:

TO MY HUSBAND

Happy Father’s Day my love.  You are a wonderful father to our daughter and to our boys.  Although you are not their biological father you love them as if you were.  I thank God for you every day.  The love and attention you give to our children is appreciated more than you know.  Since the moment you walked into our lives you have provided my boys with such love and acceptance that I couldn’t be more proud and honored to have a daughter with you so that you can shower her with the same love and acceptance you have given to our boys.  I love you with all that I am!  Thank you for being such a wonderful father.  We Love You!

Kevin and Alexis

TO MY FATHER

Happy Father’s Day Papi!  You are sorely missed every single day.  Not a day goes by that I don’t think of your smile and the names you used to call me.  I wish that you were here to watch me graduate high school and finish college.  I wish you were here to watch my children grow up and tell them how much you love them just like you used to do to me.  I wish you could influence my children to do what is right the way you helped influence me.  All my adult life I have lacked the connection a daughter should have with her father.  How I wish you were there for my wedding to give me away.  All the things that most daughters take for granted I just wish I could have experienced even just one (either my high school graduation, birth of my children or my wedding, any of them with you there would have been wonderful).  Regardless, I know you have always been there in spirit and you always will be.  You are the first man I ever loved and I hope and pray that my boys will be just like you when they grow up.  Te amo y te extraño.

TO MY SON’S FATHER, HECTOR

Happy Father’s Day Hector!  It saddens me that you are not here with us.  You were the greatest father I could have ever hoped for for Justin.  Justin was blessed to have had you in his life until he was 17.  He had you through the toddler, child and early teenage years which were crucial to his development.  You helped shape and mold the young man I see before me everyday.  You played a huge part in the man he will become.  He is respectful to others, he loves unconditionally and he appreciates what he has.  You were a blessing to him throughout his childhood and you will be an angel to him for the rest of his life.  Thank you for being such a wonderful father to him, you were an angel while you were alive and you are most definitely an angel now.  God Bless you!  We miss you dearly!

Much Love, Hugs & Kisses!

Leave a Reply

