How Do I Balance Work, Kids, Family & Personal Time?

Being a mom and working a full time job is exhausting. Trying to meet deadlines at work, keeping track of upcoming events, holidays and birthdays, taking care of the dog and his needs, making sure everyone gets to where they have to go on a daily basis and making sure dinner is done by 8pm so the kids can be laying down by 8:30-9:00 is not an easy task. Add to that some “personal time” and you’ve managed to overdo it and now you’re swamped and still haven’t managed any “me time”.

I have read on Facebook and on some online parenting forums that some “Stay at Home” moms seem to think that moms who work have it a little easier than they do because they don’t spend as much time with their kids and they don’t have all the house work to do, etc… That’s most definitely not true.  If anything, we are equally overworked!  We both have to take care of our children, we both have to make sure that the home is kept up with and dinner is made and we both still have other things to worry about including finding the time to have some personal time alone. The only difference is that while one works all day making sure all their daily tasks are completed before the end of the day the other is at home making sure all of their daily tasks are taken care of for when the kids get home. Other than that, there really is no difference. 

As a mom of three, 17 yr old, 13 yr old and 9 month old, trying to manage my full time job and all the housework and extra curricular activities while my husband is away at work for 6 weeks at a time is so hard. I, personally, never have time alone unless I’m driving to work and back home (or to my moms to get the baby).  It starts to become overwhelming and I begin to feel lost because I’m literally just going through the motions of each day without giving it a second thought.  

I’m not sure how I make it through the days sometimes because I can’t comprehend how one person can manage to do so much in one day and still get to bed by 9:30-10:00pm. Some days I can honestly say that I don’t make it to bed until after 11pm because I have so much to do after the kids are taken care of but its not everyday so I can’t complain.  Nevertheless, I’m a human being who has needs and “I Need” to have some “Me Time”but how do I manage!? How do I manage to get a few hours at a nail salon to pamper myself!? How do I get a few hours to myself to watch my favorite shows without any interruptions!? 

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m good at managing my weekdays and my weekends but in all honesty, I don’t know where I could fit in the time. I already rely on my mom a little too much to help me out during the week when I ask her to watch the baby a little longer so I can wash clothes so why would I impose on her anymore!?  I have asked her to watch the baby during the weekend when my husband and I wanted to go out on a date for our wedding anniversary. Why would I continue to take advantage and ask for another three or four hours of her time so I can have my time. I can’t do it. I can’t do it!

There are times I want to wave the white flag and give up and just sleep all day and ignore everything and everyone but I can’t do that. For now I guess I’ll just do what I do and figure out a way to incorporate some me time so I can feel normal and so I can feel good about myself. Wish me luck!

Much Love, Hugs & Kisses!!

Leave a Reply

