Life Is What You Make Of It…

When I think about my life and all the people in it who bring me joy, I feel blessed to have them in my life. I have chosen to keep these people around because they bring me joy and love me unconditionally. There are those few individuals that I have just grown apart from and it’s not anyone’s fault, we have just matured and our lives have taken different paths and that’s ok.  That’s a part of life.Then there are those individuals that I have chosen to not keep around or stay in touch with because they brought negativity into my life and that to me is unacceptable. I am making my life what I want it to be.  I want to wake up each day and feel 100% satisfied with the choices I have made and the path that I have traveled and continue to travel.

When I hear people talk about how they “can’t catch a break” or how they’re “lonely and depressed” it really hits a nerve. Why do you think you “can’t catch a break”?  If you’re lonely why not surround yourself with people who bring positivity intoo it life?  If you’re depressed, why not seek professional help for it?  Why would you assume that talking to a “support group” is all you need to maintain a normal life?  Don’t people realize that loneliness and depression are more than just “feeling alone and down” or “not feeling like yourself” one day?  Are these people, who talk about being depressed, really depressed and are diagnosed with DEPRESSION?  Or is it a self-diagnosis because of things they have read on WebMD?  The way I see it is like this, you have the choice to ignore your symptoms and try to live a life as normal as possible if you are depressed and you have the choice to seek professional help to begin to feel like yourself. Why sit around and wait for it to get worse?  For the family of those who are like this, why wouldn’t you intervene?  I just don’t get it. Sorry, I rambled and vented. This isn’t a post about depression. 

Disclaimer:

I am in NO WAY saying that depression isn’t a mental illness and that it’s a joke, it most definitely is not. However, if you aren’t seeking “professional” help for your mental illness and you’re assuming that you’re getting help by just talking to people (and not even professionals) then that’s a bigger issue.


Back to the reason behind this post:
In life, we are all faced with challenges and obstacles and it’s not only about how we handle those challenges and obstacles but also how we react to them.  Thinking positively will help you keep an open-mind about how to effectively handle any given situation.  I’m not saying be naive or gullible in thinking that everything is always going to turn out perfect, because it’s not.  Life throws us curve balls and there is nothing we can do about it.  We have to learn how to work around those.  Now, if we react negatively to those obstacles and challenges what does that do for us? Does it help the situation?  What does that do for our self esteem? What does that do for our self worth? How can we possibly have faith in our ability to overcome challenges and overcome obstacles if we think negatively and constantly have a fear that we aren’t going to overcome them?   In my opinion, positive thinking is one way of working towards a stress free life.

Make your life what you want it to be and stop making excuses as to why it’s not the life you wanted or how you can’t catch a break. Make that path for yourself so that one day your break will present itself to you. 

Much Love, Hugs & Kisses!! 

Leave a Reply

